Over 50’s Fitness….Just how much more relaxed does this need to be??

As my regular followers will know, i have recently accepted my redundancy as the push i needed to concentrate more on my fitness career.  I have been planning new classes and covering other instructors via the local gym and throughout Cornwall self employed.

ImageI have recently been covering some over 50’s classes for my mentor.  Her style is to basically do a standard class, just slower bpm music, with slightly fewer reps and of course with a little more time between moves etc for position changes.

I have also been looking at starting my own over 50’s class, in a certain center and as there was already an over 50’s there i contacted the instructor to see whether she thought there would be need for two there per week, i  wouldn’t want to step on toes, at the end of the day, its hard enough in  this business without doing each other over.

Anyway interesting conversation.  Her class is so completely different its unreal.   Her class are basically more of the immobile, injured or less abled clients with health conditions and disabilities of all sorts.  Alot of their work is very basic and caters for all the handicaps of the class.

So this is great as is, there is definitely scope for my style of teaching, basically for those with general good health, wanting to improve their fitness.  But it does leave me wondering exactly how i should tailor my classes.  Should i be adapting a little more to the age thing? or is this offensive for those who are able?? I know in the cover class they took great pride in informing me the instructor doesn’t go easy on them and they impressed me with their efforts!

Hmmm, I’m thinking with a rename, maybe something like fit over 50, or fighting fit at 50+ I can supply a successful class for those who want to workout without the usual gym bunnies, those who prefer to workout with those their own age, but those that are still able and determined not to let age stop them.  I cant imagine there’s anything worse than a 50 + year old than going to a class and being treated either as if they are disabled due to age, or as if they are weak for not keeping up.   There’s a fine line here with getting it right…I hope i manage to pull it off!

Any advice, or if you are of the older generation and would like to share your fitness experiences, i would be most grateful to hear what you have to say….

Leave a comment